Test levels with testing types of each level

Most of the testers are not fully aware about the testing techniques , types , levels and testing methods In daily testing activities we used these techniques but not aware about the exact terminologies and how to use them.  In this article I will explain the testing levels and types in details.
To study the testing techniques visit the link : Software Testing Techniques and Methods  
  • Unit Testing
  • Integration Testing
    • Bang Ban
    • Top Down
    • Bottom Up
  • System Testing
    • Functional Testing
    • Non Functional Testing
  • UAT 
    • Alpha Testing
    • Beta Testing 
    • Contract Acceptance Testing
    • Regulation Acceptance Testing
    • Operational Acceptance Testing

Unit Testing

In computer programming,Unit testing is a software development process in which smallest parts of application called individual units of source code, sets of one or more computer program modules together with associated control data, usage procedures, and operating procedures, are tested to determine whether they are fit for use

Integration Testing

Integration testing (sometimes called integration and testing, abbreviated I&T) is the phase in software testing in which individual software modules are combined and tested as a group. It occurs after unit testing and before validation testing.

System Testing

System testing falls within the scope of black-box testing, and as such, should require no knowledge of the inner design of the code or logic. Its performed to evaluate the complete system the system's compliance against specified requirements. In System testing, the functionalities of the system are tested from an end-to-end perspective.

UAT - User Acceptance Testing

Acceptance testing is a test conducted to determine if the requirements of a specification or contract are met. In software testing the ISTQB defines acceptance as: formal testing with respect to user needs, requirements, and business processes conducted to determine whether or not a system satisfies the acceptance criteria and to enable the user, customers or other authorized entity to determine whether or not to accept the system

In upcoming articles , I will explain all types in details.

Please share your feedback and suggestions  


  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.